Life’s lessons

  • Whether you are going uphill or downhill, if you just concentrate on one step at a time and not look at the summit/foot, before long you will have reached safely without falling. The same may be said of life.
  • Years of hard work can be destroyed by mere seconds of an unfortunate accident.
  • If you can do something nice to someone, do it now; you may never get another chance
  • No matter what/how much you achieve, nothing can fill the void of the time you lost with loved ones.
  • The good things you do are quickly forgotten; make one mistake (no matter however compelling the reasons may be) you will hear about it for the rest of your life.
  • Being too nice is not so good sometimes. The only person you hurt is yourself.
  • It is impossible to live up to everyone’s expectations. The best thing is to stop trying.
  • It is very easy for people to take your goodness and kindness for granted.
  • It is better to do nothing than to suffer the guilt of doing something wrong.
  • Least said, soonest mended.
  • Once you commit to something, there is no use regretting it later.
  • What you actually do is more important than what you think you can do.
  • Distance is a double edged sword. It can be a blessing and a curse at the same time.
  • Sometimes the answer is more disturbing than the question.

9 Comments

  1. #2 is my recent laptop fiiasco. Will email you the details.

    The last one is something I have felt on and off. Distance spares the family of unnecessary worries. I can choose to omit relating some unpleasant things (for instance the laptop incident). That way, it is a blessing.

    But again, I don’t want to be so far away from them, missing out on all the simple everyday things; so it is a curse.

  2. Agreed on most of it …. liked the first one ..just one step at a time …. it makes life much more easier….

  3. I have to tell the first one to myself almost everyday. I’m scared of walking in the snow.

  4. It is impossible to live up to everyone’s expectations. The best thing is to stop trying.

    More like “It is impossible to live up to everyone’s expectations. The best thing is to live upto yours.” Well, in my case, even thats not possible, because I expect too much of myself, more than probably what others expect of me!

    Hmm the post says a lot more than you let on. So I guess the best way to hear everything is to call you ;-).

  5. u r scared walking in snow and u still do that everyday…. its commendable action indeed…..but i am sure the snow in ur path is temporary and it will disappear one day..till than keep walking ..one step at a time….

  6. Deeps,
    I totally agree. Expectations of self are more formidable than those of others. But what I have to do is, dil pe lagne nahi dena chahiye.
    Yeah man, this post has been going around in the mind for a while now. Sorry about not calling back the other day. I have been busy with work and other things. Will call you when I can talk for some time.

    Vani,
    True, the snow will disappear one day. Until then, I’ll take it one step at a time. It keeps me going.

  7. “If you can do something nice to someone, do it now; you may never get another chance”

    I do this always! Kind of insanity.

Leave a comment