Internal conflict

  • Some times, complex questions have simple answers; at others, even simple questions do not have simple answers
  • Some times, you want to face adversities with a smile; at others, you want to bury your face in tears
  • Some times, you want to take control of your life; at others, you want to relinquish responsibility at least for a short while
  • Some times, you want to isolate yourself; at others, you are desperate for a reassuring hand and a hug
  • Some times, you feel life itself is futile; at others, all your problems seem trivial
  • Some times, you are terrified of what you have become; at others, you are proud
  • Some times, everyone gives up on you; at others, you try hard not to give up on yourself
  • Some times, you want the earth to split open and swallow you; at others, you want to pick up the pieces and start over
  • Some times, you feel you can handle it all yourself; at others, you want a shoulder to lean on
  • Some times, you want to push yourself just a little harder; at others, you want to just give it all up
  • Some times, you are haunted by the past; at others, you only see the bright future
  • Some times, you hold your head high in confidence; at others, you are just broken into pieces
  • Some times, you try to preserve your dignity; at others, you wonder if there is any left
  • Some times, you question your worth again and again; at others, you have absolutely no doubt
  • Some times, years fly by as if they were seconds; at others, every second feels like a century
  • Some times, you feel like you have reached the end; at others, you realise it is only the beginning

13 Comments

  1. Sanchit,

    Thanks. Glad that you agree. 🙂

    Sneha,

    Thank you. We seem to have the same thoughts. Great minds think alike? 😉

    1. Yeah Deeps.. That was exactly the point in writing this post, to see that for every negative feeling I had, there was a positive side.. I felt so much better after writing it down..

  2. Life is always like this,
    thats the reason it is so beautiful and worth living

      1. Well, my struggle is going on with my intellectual interests and financial needs currently.
        As you’re a scientist yourself, guess you can understand.
        BTW, what is your research field?

  3. I just came back to read what interested me last time I visited your blog. I was thinking about a seemingly simple science question related to my studies. It is simple and not so simple at the same time.

    “simple questions do not have simple answers”…This seems to be consistently at the heart of your posts. I wonder what your opinion is on the following.

    1. Identifying that a question is not simple (both question wise and/or answer-wise)
    2. Putting an effort to simplifying a question.
    3. Identifying a simple answer from a pool of answers.
    4. Complicating is necessary to get to answers.
    5. Deliberate complications

    1. Thanks for your insight. I do agree that “simple questions do not have simple answers” seems to be the underlying statement in my posts. I guess it is due to my own realisation of that fact in recent times.
      As to my opinion on the points you raised, will think about it and put up the relevant points in a post.

  4. Chirag,

    I do understand the trials of a scientist. My research is in Chemistry, I’m working towards a doctorate.

Leave a comment